Sharjah Department of Culture

  • عربي


Most searched

About the award
Sharjah Award for Arab Culture – UNESCO

With the recommendations of His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan bin Mohammed Al Qasimi, Member of the Supreme Council and Ruler of Sharjah, and in celebration of Sharjah being chosen as the Cultural Capital of the Arab World for the year 1998, the Emirate of Sharjah proposed the establishment of the Sharjah Award for Arab Culture to UNESCO.

The award aims to recognize the efforts of cultural figures, both men and women, as well as institutions or groups that contribute through their intellectual, artistic, or promotional works to the development and dissemination of Arab culture worldwide.

Nominations for the award are proposed to the Director-General by the governments of member states of UNESCO and relevant non-governmental organizations that have official relations with UNESCO.

Terms and conditions of participation
  • The nomination for the award must be accompanied by a written recommendation, including:
    • Description of the nominee's works.
    • Summary of the results achieved by their works.
    • Statement of the nominee's contribution to the development or better dissemination of Arab culture.
    • Nomination files are submitted to the jury members, who discuss the entire set of nominations. Based on this, two winners are selected and proposed to the Director-General of UNESCO.
  • Selection Criteria:
    • Innovation
    • Contribution to research and promotion of societal values and aspirations, especially in the fields of women and youth.
    • Contribution to the development of cultural heritage.
    • Highlighting unity in the creative diversity of humanity.
    • Contribution to dialogue between cultures and civilizations.
    • The nominee's place and uniqueness of their vision regarding others.
    • Respect for others in their differences.
Necessary attachments
  • Nominees can be individuals, groups, or institutions that have contributed to the development, dissemination, and promotion of Arab culture worldwide, as well as the preservation of intangible Arab cultural heritage.
Additional notes

Selection of Winners:The winners are selected by the Director-General of UNESCO based on proposals submitted by the jury committee.

The award is valued at $60,000 USD and is awarded annually by the Government of Sharjah (United Arab Emirates), with equal distribution between winners from an Arab country and a non-Arab country.