Sharjah Award for Arab Culture - UNESCO Awards

14th Edition
2015 – 2016
Under the recommendations of His Highness Sheikh Dr Sultan bin Mohammed Al Qasimi, Supreme Council Member and Ruler of Sharjah, and with the celebration of selecting Sharjah as the Cultural Capital of the Arab World for the year 1998, the Emirate of Sharjah proposed to 
The United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) to establish of the Sharjah Award for Arab Culture. The award is given in recognition of the efforts of cultural figures, institutions or groups that contribute to the intellectual or artistic or promotional work in the development and dissemination of Arab culture in the world. Sharjah Award for Arab Culture is given to Arab and international figures, both supporting profoundly to the enhancement of the Arab Culture and helped distribute it to the world, through their works of art and literature.

 Term and Condition 

Rules and Regulations:
the governments of the Member States of UNESCO and relevant NGOs that are related to official relations with UNESCO, propose the nominations to the Director-General.
Nominations must be accompanied by a written recommendation, which includes the following:
•    Descriptions of the works submitted.
•    Summary of the works outcomes.
•    The statement of the candidate's contribution to the development of Arab culture.

Selection Criteria:
The selection criteria that are adopted by the jury members are:
•    Innovation.
•    Candidates are contributing to thorough research and promoting the values and aspirations of the community.
•    Candidates are contributing to the development of cultural heritage.
•    Candidates are emphasising the unity in the creative diversity of humanity.
•    Candidates are contributing to the dialogue between cultures and civilisations.
•    The uniqueness of the candidate’s vision of the other nominee and their placement in submitted works.
•    Respecting the views of the other candidate.

 Required Documents

Those eligible for the award should have made a substantial contribution to the development or and the promotion of Arab culture in the world and preserving the Arab intangible cultural heritage.

The jury consists of five international members, all appointed by the Director-General for four years.


The Government of Sharjah grants the amount of $60,000 annually. The amount will be equally distributed between two winners, an Arab and non-Arab national. 

Winner from Non-Arab Countries Winner from Arab Countries Edition No.
Professor Na Zhong (China) Professor Abdulaziz el Makalah (Yemen) 2001 1
Esad Durakovic (Bosnia) Bensalem Hemmich (Morocco) 2003 2
Juan Vernet Gines (Spain) Professor Abdelwahab Bouhdiba (Tunisia) 2004 3
Michel Lagarde (France) Professor Tahar Ouettar (Algeria) 2005 4
Dr. Yordan Peez (Bulgaria) Dr. Jamal Al-Shalabi (Jordan) 2006 5
Professor Shah Abdus Salam (India) Professor Aladine Lolah (Syria) 2007 6
Dr. Jose Adalberto Coelho Alves (Portugal) Dr. Gaber Asfour (Egypt) 2008 7
Anna Parzymies (Poland) Ghani Alani (Iraq) 2009 8
Cherif Khaznadar (France) Ali Mahdi Nouri (Sudan) 2010 9
Joao Baptisa de Medeiros Vargens (Brazil) Elias Khoury (Lebanon) 2011 10
The Arab British Centre (UK) Mustapha Cherif (Algeria) 2012 11
Farouk Mardam-Bey (France) The Arab Image Foundation (Lebanon) 2013 12
The Biblioteca Islamica Library Affilited with the Spanish Agency for International Development Cooperation (Spain) Elias Sanbar (Lebanon) 2015 13
eL Seed (France) Bahia Shehab (Egypt) 2016 14
Asociacion Civil del Creciente Cine Fertil para la Promocion de la Diversidad C Christine Tohme (Lebanon) 2017 15
Shubbak Festival (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) Samandal Association (Lebanon) 2018 16
Silvia Alice Antibas (Brazil) Suleiman Mansour (Palestine) 2019 17
Helen Al-Janabi (Sweden) Dunya Mikhail (Iraq) 2020 18

 Contact Name


Phone / Fax: 0033145684271 / 00330145685591

Contact Email: