Sharjah Award for Arab Culture - UNESCO Awards

14th Edition
2015 – 2016
Under the recommendations of His Highness Sheikh Dr Sultan bin Mohammed Al Qasimi, Supreme Council Member and Ruler of Sharjah, and with the celebration of selecting Sharjah as the Cultural Capital of the Arab World for the year 1998, the Emirate of Sharjah proposed to 
The United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) to establish of the Sharjah Award for Arab Culture. The award is given in recognition of the efforts of cultural figures, institutions or groups that contribute to the intellectual or artistic or promotional work in the development and dissemination of Arab culture in the world. Sharjah Award for Arab Culture is given to Arab and international figures, both supporting profoundly to the enhancement of the Arab Culture and helped distribute it to the world, through their works of art and literature.

 Term and Condition 

Rules and Regulations:
the governments of the Member States of UNESCO and relevant NGOs that are related to official relations with UNESCO, propose the nominations to the Director-General.
Nominations must be accompanied by a written recommendation, which includes the following:
•    Descriptions of the works submitted.
•    Summary of the works outcomes.
•    The statement of the candidate's contribution to the development of Arab culture.

Selection Criteria:
The selection criteria that are adopted by the jury members are:
•    Innovation.
•    Candidates are contributing to thorough research and promoting the values and aspirations of the community.
•    Candidates are contributing to the development of cultural heritage.
•    Candidates are emphasising the unity in the creative diversity of humanity.
•    Candidates are contributing to the dialogue between cultures and civilisations.
•    The uniqueness of the candidate’s vision of the other nominee and their placement in submitted works.
•    Respecting the views of the other candidate.

 Required Documents

Those eligible for the award should have made a substantial contribution to the development or and the promotion of Arab culture in the world and preserving the Arab intangible cultural heritage.

The jury consists of five international members, all appointed by the Director-General for four years.


The Government of Sharjah grants the amount of $60,000 annually. The amount will be equally distributed between two winners, an Arab and non-Arab national. 

Winners are selected by the Director-General of UNESCO, based on the suggestions provided by the jury.

 Contact Name


Phone / Fax: 0033145684271 / 00330145685591

Contact Email: